The workshop for humor writing, human interest writing, networking and getting published

Erma Bombeck Wrighters' Workshop Banner

Humor writer of the month

Kathleen Gerard

Kathleen GerardKathleen Gerard’s work has been awarded The Perillo PrizeThe Eric Hoffer Prose Award and was nominated for Best New American Voices, The William Faulkner-William Wisdom Prize, The Mark Twain House Humor Prize, The Saturday Evening Post “Great American Fiction” Prize and Short Story America, all national prizes in literature. Her short prose and poetry have been widely published in magazines, journals and anthologies. Her essays have been broadcast on National Public Radio (NPR). Several of her plays have been staged and performed regionally and off-Broadway. She’s the author of three books, including the thing is, a lighthearted comical novel about a therapy dog named Prozac that rescues a woman in grief.

Elayne Boosler

Elayne BooslerThe hysterical Elayne Boosler, described as “a titan of the stand-up comedy world,” has appeared multiple times on late-night TV shows, produced and written five Showtime comedy specials, and written and directed two movies for Cinemax. Known for her “thoughtful and feisty political humor,” she’s currently working on three books. She founded and runs an animal rescue and advocacy non-profit organization, (Elayne Boosler’s) Tails of Joy, her passion. Her fashion philosophy: “If you’re not covered in dog hair, your life is empty.”

Bruce Ferber

ferber bruceBruce Ferber has garnered a gold award in humor and a bronze in general adult fiction for his second novel, Cascade Falls, in Foreword Reviews’ 2015 INDIEFAB Book of the Year competition. Humorist Dan Zevin calls the book “poignant, moving and ridiculously funny.” Bruce is an Emmy- and Golden Globe-nominated comedy writer and producer whose credits include Bosom Buddies, Growing Pains, Sabrina, The Teenage Witch, Coach and Home Improvement, where he served as executive producer and showrunner. A former EBWW keynoter, he’s also the author of Elevating Overman, which is being developed for the big screen.

Eric Heyl

Eric HeylEric Heyl is a staff columnist and former reporter at the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review, where his writing has graced the newspaper’s pages for 23 years. His witty columns garnered him first place in the humor category for large newspapers in the National Society of Newspaper Columnists’ 2016 column contest. Judges called his work “laugh out loud funny” with “spot on” comical observations. He is the former president of NSNC, where he also served as vice president of the NSNC Education Foundation.

Donna Cavanagh

Donna CavanaghWriting humor is serious business. Just ask Donna Cavanagh, author of the newly published How to Write and Share Humor: Techniques to Tickle Funny Bones and Win Fans.  A former journalist and syndicated columnist, Cavanagh gained a national audience when her work landed in the pages of First MagazineUSA Today and other national media. She launched in 2011 as an outlet for writers to showcase their work in a world that offered few avenues for humor. The site now features the creative talents of more than 100 aspiring and accomplished writers, producers, comics and authors from all over the world. She has taught the how-to lessons of humor, blogging and publishing at The Philadelphia Writers’ Conference and the Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop. Cavanagh has penned four humor books Reality: Fantasy’s Evil Twin, Try and Avoid the Speed Bumps, A Canine’s Guide to the Good Life (which she wrote with her dogs Frankie and Lulu) and Life On the Off Ramp.

Wendy Liebman

wendy liebmanWendy Liebman is a nationally known stand-up comic who’s performed on Carson, Letterman, Leno, Fallon, Kimmel, Ferguson and Hollywood Squares. She was a semi-finalist on America’s Got Talent. She’s hilarious. As part of the faculty at the 2016 Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop, she sparked laughter and encouraged learning — sharing her special brand of humor and grace.

Roy Blount Jr.

Roy Blount Jr.Roy Blount Jr. has been called “a humorist and social critic in the tradition of Mark Twain, Will Rogers, H.L. Mencken and W.C. Fields.” A master storyteller and prolific writer, he has written two dozen books, including his newest, Save Room for Pie: Food Songs and Chewy Ruminations, and has won numerous awards for his work. He is a familiar voice on NPR’s Wait, Wait . . . Don’t Tell Me! and his writing regularly appears in many national magazines. He also is an original member of the Rock Bottom Remainders, a rock band composed entirely of writers.

Sgt. Tim Cotton

Tim_CottonSgt. Tim Cotton, the author of the police department’s Facebook page in Bangor, Maine, is a storyteller at heart who connects with readers with his amusing musings. Bangor boasts a population of about 33,000, but the department’s Facebook page has attracted more than 100,000 followers — boosted by some recent practical, yet humorous, snowstorm survival tips that went viral. The best advice: Stock up on Cap’t Crunch. Count The Washington Post, Huffington Post and The New York Times among fans. NPR calls the page not your typical police blotter fodder.

Reflections of Erma