The workshop for humor writing, human interest writing, networking and getting published

Erma Bombeck Wrighters' Workshop Banner

Humor writer of the month

Wendy Liebman

wendy liebmanWendy Liebman is a nationally known stand-up comic who’s performed on Carson, Letterman, Leno, Fallon, Kimmel, Ferguson and Hollywood Squares. She was a semi-finalist on America’s Got Talent. She’s hilarious. As part of the faculty at the 2016 Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop, she sparked laughter and encouraged learning — sharing her special brand of humor and grace.

Roy Blount Jr.

Roy Blount Jr.Roy Blount Jr. has been called “a humorist and social critic in the tradition of Mark Twain, Will Rogers, H.L. Mencken and W.C. Fields.” A master storyteller and prolific writer, he has written two dozen books, including his newest, Save Room for Pie: Food Songs and Chewy Ruminations, and has won numerous awards for his work. He is a familiar voice on NPR’s Wait, Wait . . . Don’t Tell Me! and his writing regularly appears in many national magazines. He also is an original member of the Rock Bottom Remainders, a rock band composed entirely of writers.

Sgt. Tim Cotton

Tim_CottonSgt. Tim Cotton, the author of the police department’s Facebook page in Bangor, Maine, is a storyteller at heart who connects with readers with his amusing musings. Bangor boasts a population of about 33,000, but the department’s Facebook page has attracted more than 100,000 followers — boosted by some recent practical, yet humorous, snowstorm survival tips that went viral. The best advice: Stock up on Cap’t Crunch. Count The Washington Post, Huffington Post and The New York Times among fans. NPR calls the page not your typical police blotter fodder.

Dylan Brody

Dylan BrodyAuthor and humorist Dylan Brody calls himself a “purveyor of fine words and phrases” and specializes in smart, humane storytelling. He has performed in venues all over the world, regularly opens for David Sedaris and has written for dozens of comedians, including Jay Leno. He wrote the satirical self-help book, The Modern Depression Guidebook, and the novel, Laughs Last. He is a thrice-published author of fiction for the young adult market with one of his books, A Tale of a Hero and the Song of Her Swordfinding a place in the curriculum at several public schools in the U.S. In 2005, Dylan won the Stanley Drama Award for playwriting.

Alan Zweibel

Alan ZweibelAn original “Saturday Night Live” writer who the New York Times says has “earned a place in the pantheon of American pop culture,” Alan Zweibel has won multiple Emmy, Writers Guild of America and TV Critics awards for his work in television, which includes It’s Garry Shandling’s Show (which he co-created and produced), Monk, PBS’s Great Performances, The Late Show With David Letterman and Curb Your Enthusiasm. He’s a renowned comedy writer, playwright, novelist, author of children’s books and screenwriter.

Jenny Lawson

Jenny LawsonJenny Lawson, “The Bloggess,” is an award-winning humor writer known for her great candor in sharing her struggle with depression and mental illness. She’s the author of two New York Times’ bestsellers, Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things and Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. Her popular blog (www.thebloggess.com) averages millions of page views a month, and she is considered to be one of the funniest women alive (“by at least three people”).

Anna Lefler

Anna LeflerAnna Lefler is a humorist, comedy writer, EBWW faculty member and author of two books, Preschooled and The Chicktionary: From A-Line to Z-Snap, The Words Every Woman Should Know. She describes her new novel, Preschooled, as “a comic love letter to my children’s nursery school years in Santa Monica.” Laraine Newman, an original cast member of “Saturday Night Live,” calls it “so goddam funny it made me want to ditch my life so I could read it.” A portion of the proceeds from the book will benefit the Los Angeles Regional Food Bank. Click here to watch the hysterical book trailer.

Susan Konig

Susan KonigSusan Konig, a 2006 Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop keynote speaker alongside her comedian husband Dave Konig, has been called “hilarious,” “witty” and “downright Bombeckian” by Publisher’s Weekly and USA Today in reviews of her humor series The Motherhood Trilogy. This spring, Konig republished all three best-selling titles under her newly founded publishing imprint, Willow Street PressWhy Animals Sleep So Close to the RoadI Wear the Maternity Pants in This Family and Teenagers and Toddlers Are Trying to Kill Me! chronicle the laugh-out-loud adventures brought about by suburban migration, pregnancy after 39ish and the conflict between the family dog and the school bus (spoiler: the bus wins the battle, but not the war).

Reflections of Erma